EYFS Curriculum

At Little Acorns Pre-School, we follow curriculum as set out in Development Matters for 3 to 4 year olds. This feeds directly into the EYFS curriculum for Reception children and helps provide a seamless transition between year groups.


The Pre-School curriculum is similar to the Reception curriculum in that it focuses on 3 prime areas of learning and 4 specific areas of learning. The prime areas are critical to all aspects of learning and cover

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language ( speaking, listening and understanding)
  • Physical Development ( Gross and Fine motor skills)

The specific areas of learning follow on from the prime areas and cover

  • Literacy 
  • Number 
  • Expressive Art and Design 
  • Understanding the World